It left me with a rather not quite finished feeling.

Coming Home
Snowy Ridge: Love at Starlight, #1
Kris Jett
Self-Pub, Feb 2017
Kindle, 230 Pages
Only available in Digital format
Genre(s) Chic Lit, Contemporary Romance
Source Author's newsletter

Other books in this series 

Taking Chances (Wynn & Bryce) #2, Finding Me (Luci & Evan) #3 

Also available:

CHRISTMAS AT STARLIGHT – (Amber & Nick) (Snowy Ridge: A Love at Starlight Novella, Book 0.5) (available FREE- http://bit.ly/2jcZfla)

My Disclaimer:
I was provided a complimentary copy of this book. I am voluntarily providing an honest review in which all opinions are fully my own. I am not being compensated in any way.
~ Judi E. Easley for Blue Cat Review


What it's about... 

Jessie and her mother run the Starlight Pub in Snowy Ridge, Wisconsin. Jessie's the one that everyone goes to when they need something. She can always help you out. She loves her life just the way it is. But now her mother tells her that her two estranged sisters are coming home to stay and work in the pub. Jessie can't accept it. 

Cade and his two brothers just moved to Snowy Ridge to open a snowmobile business. They've divided up the labor and Cade is doing the books. He'd rather be working on motorcycles back in Detroit. But family is everything and he's committed to his brothers. Then he has a run-in with Jessie and can't stop thinking about her.

Can these two troubled and unhappy people work together to help each other and their families to find the solution that lets them find their HEA? 

Technical Tidbits...  
The cover is very appealing and certainly relates to the story inside. Kudos to the author for that!

The storyline wanders a bit, but I guess it gets the characters from the beginning to the end. I just think it could have been done a bit better.

The characters were introduced and developed and explained quite well. We saw them. We experienced their behavior in good and bad circumstances. And we had family members talk about them. So we pretty much got to know everything about the characters except for their deepest secrets, because we didn't spend a lot of time inside their heads.

The pace again got us from the beginning to the end. As I started each chapter, I was never sure if I was going to be pulled into something interesting or if I was going to sit and sip a cup of coffee and complain about the same things.

The tension was intermittent. It just didn't hold together.

And this is where you STOP if you don't want to see any SPOILERS...

The good, the bad, and the ugly...and how much it lit up my life... ✰✰✰⭒

I don't where the synopses for books come from on GoodReads, but this was at the end of the one for this book:

"Fans of Jessie Evans, Bella Andre, and Susan Mallery will love the Love at Starlight series: stories featuring sassy mid-western women and the alpha males who love them.


To compare this book or series to the work of these authors is so wrong. These are award-winning authors who have been polishing their craft for several years and have earned the regard of their followers. This book that Kris Jett has published is in no way in the same ballpark as any of the work of these authors. Yes, it takes place in the mid-west. Yes, there are alpha males involved. That's as close as the similarity comes.

The book needs more editing and polish before it could be considered to be similar to the work of these authors. There are spelling and word use errors to be corrected. There are gaps in the story that need filling and smoothing over. And Jessie's not sassy so much as she's just plain rude most of the time. As is Cade. Why is rudeness okay? I have no idea where the rest of the series goes. And there is a prequel. This book ends suddenly and with a rather not quite finished feeling. I guess that's supposed to lead us to the next book in the series. I'm afraid I'm not interested in the next book.

700 wc