If you like the psychological ones, this one may be for you.

The Second Cup
Sarah Marie Graye
Creativia, Jul 2017
Kindle, 300 pages
Genre(s) Debut Novel, Psych Lit
Source Author

Synopsis
Would your life unravel if someone you knew committed suicide? Theirs did.

University was years ago, but Faye's heart still belongs to her first love from her days as a student. She knows Jack might have moved on, but when she decides to try and track him down nothing prepares her for the news that he's killed himself.

With the fragility of life staring them in the face, Abbie finds herself questioning her marriage and Faye her friendship with Ethan. And poor Olivia is questioning everything - including why Jack's death has hit Beth the hardest. Is she about to take her own life too?

The Second Cup is the first novel by London South Bank University postgraduate scholarship holder Sarah Marie Graye.


About the Author:  
Sarah Marie Graye was born in Manchester, United Kingdom, in 1975, to English Catholic parents. One of five daughters, to the outside world Sarah Marie's childhood followed a relatively typical Manchester upbringing... until aged 9 when she was diagnosed with depression. It's a diagnosis that has stayed with Sarah Marie over three decades, and something she believes has colored every life decision. Now in her early 40s, and with an MA Creative Writing from London South Bank University (where she was the vice-chancellor's scholarship holder), Sarah Marie has published her debut novel - about family, friendships, and mental health.

My Disclaimer:  I was provided a free copy of this book by the author's representative. I am providing an honest review for which I am receiving no compensation of any kind. All opinions are fully my own.
~ Judi E. Easley for Blue Cat Review

My Review:  ✰
I did not finish this book. I had to stop at 55%. I was starting to dither just like the characters. I know it's the correct thing to do in a book review to say something nice about the book, then the bad news, and close with something nice. However, I really don't have that much to say to spread it over that many comments.

I carry a diagnosis of depression myself, so I am perhaps the wrong reviewer for this book. That being said, I found the characters running in circles in fact and in their minds trying to find out what had really happened to someone they had lost touch with years ago. None of them seemed to have any sense or real purpose. Nor did any of them seem to make any progress in their efforts other than to work themselves up.

Not a book I can recommend, though it currently has a 3.82 rating on GoodReads and a bit higher on Amazon. I think this is one you will have to see for yourself. It may be one of those you either love or hate. For those of you who really like the psychological ones, this may work for you.