The Bloom Girls
Emily Maine Cavanaugh
Lake Union Publishing, March 2017
Kindle, 258 Pages
Also available in paperback, audiobook
Genre(s) Debut Novel, Women's Lit, Family
Source Author's rep

Synopsis:  

A tender, heartfelt story of three sisters, their late father’s painful past, and the power of forgiveness.

When the news of their father’s death reaches them, sisters Cal, Violet, and Suzy Bloom have to set aside their own personal crises, and their differences, to gather in Maine. Responsible Cal, the oldest and closest to their dad, is torn between taking care of her family and meeting the demands of a high-pressure law career. Impulsive Violet, the estranged middle child, is regretting a messy breakup with a man she’s just now realizing she truly loves. And Suzy, the sweet youngest daughter, is anguishing over a life-altering decision.

Arriving in their father’s small coastal town, the Bloom sisters can’t help but revisit the past, confronting the allegations against their father that shattered their family nearly twenty years earlier. As they try to reconcile different versions of their childhood and search for common ground, they’re forced to look at their father’s life—and their own lives—with new eyes, or risk losing all they hold dear.


Author:

A little about me: Originally from the Boston area, I now live on the island of Martha's Vineyard with my husband and two daughters. During the day I work as a middle and high school English teacher. When not teaching, parenting, reading or cooking, I write contemporary fiction. My writing tends to focus on family, motherhood, relationships, work and career angst, sibling rivalry, and other messy stuff. My first novel, THE BLOOM GIRLS, releases March 14, 2017, with Lake Union Publishing. My second novel will come out March 2018. Want to hear more? Read more about my work on my website (www.emilycavanaghauthor.com), sign up for my author newsletter. or follow me on social media.

My Disclaimer:  

I was provided a complimentary copy of this book. I am voluntarily providing an honest review in which all opinions are fully my own. I am not being compensated in any way.


~ Judi E. Easley for Blue Cat Review

My Review: ✰✰✰✰⭒
I'm always thrilled to find out an author whose book I like is a near neighbor of mine. I'm here in Southern New Hampshire and she's just down there on Martha's Vineyard. This is Ms. Cavanaugh's debut novel, which came out in March of this year. I struggle over how to classify this type of book. They seem to fall under Women's Lit or Coming of Age a lot. I keep looking for a better classification for them.

Here we meet three sisters of the Bloom family. Each sister has been named after a flower. There's Cal (Calla Lily), Violet, and Suzy (Black-eyed Susan). Each one has her own struggles with her past and current life. They have just found out that their father died of a heart attack. Their mother lives overseas. So the sisters make plans to go take care of their father's funeral.

Each of the sisters starts a mental house cleaning of things related to her own relationship with her father and how the situation will be once they get to his house. Each of them is focused on herself and how this has affected her. They all have questions about their father and whether or not he was really gay, even though he denied it. The sniping and bickering reveal all the tension beneath the surface. Finally, their mother arrives and they settle a bit now that their Mom is there to stabilize them. But their drama continues and it takes a near-death incident and a botched one-night stand to bring all of the dirt to light and get all four of the women together and talking enough to get at the truth of what happened "back then".

Parts of this were really tough to read. This was a family story, and yet Violet was pretty disgusting. I was glad in the end all the dirt came out so that she could really heal. There was excellent character development of all the characters. And the storyline was tops. Poor Barry, so alone in the end. I felt so bad for him. There was no resolution, no path ahead for him.

Ms. Cavanaugh has another book coming out in March of 2018. I recommend reading this first one and looking forward to her second one later one. She seems like an author to watch.
Witch Kissed
Old Sarum Witch Cozy Mystery, #1
K.E. O'Connor
Self-Pub, Jan 2017
Ebook, 175 Pages
Only in digital
Genre(s) Cozy Magic Mystery
Source Author's Newsletter

Other books in this series

Witch Rose #2, Witch Guy #3
Synopsis:  

A witch has a problem. Can the Thornheart witches help and will they solve the kissing curse and figure out their own tangled love lives?

Ivy and Bryony Thornheart are no strangers to magic, light and dark. When the talented witches come up against a powerful kissing curse, they have to fight to save their client, Agatha Graytooth, from repelling every man she kisses.

Human lives are put at risk by this curse, and the witches have to race to save the feeble red bloods and break the curse.

Witched Kissed is the first in an exciting cozy paranormal mystery in the Old Sarum series. With enchanting settings, characters you will fall in love with, and exciting magic filled action. Join the Thornheart sisters at the Love Cauldron and follow them in their witch filled adventures.

Author:

I'm K.E. O'Connor, and I love to write, make up new worlds, new possibilities and characters and share stories for others to enjoy.

I was raised in Essex, England. I am a novelist and short story writer, writing in the paranormal romance, urban fantasy and paranormal adventure genres. My writing has mystery, adventure and excitement and some romance thrown in to make things even more stimulating. I'm an indie author on a learning curve to create quality fiction, quickly, without sending out error ridden books into the world (if you spot an error in my books or on this site, let me know, always happy to make corrections.)

The writing I do aims to excite and inspire readers and writers. I love reading anything that quickens my pulse and makes me fall in love with the characters (or hate them - all intense emotions are welcome.) My writing tries to do the same. I have created a series called The School of Exorcists, following the journey of Ruby Carmichael, a girl who see ghosts, has the tricky problem of stopping her parents destroying the world and saving herself from a love that may ultimately destroy her.

If you sign up to my email list, you'll be in line for lots of fun information, giveaways and advance information about future books, you'll also get book two in the series, Revelations, for free as well!

http://www.keoconnor.com

And keep a look out for my new YA paranormal series, Ghost Academy, which is currently in development, with Book One coming out in January 2016.

When I'm not designing new stories or characters for readers to enjoy, you can find me enjoying time with a good book or five, trying to convince my elderly, beautiful cat, Cassie, to eat something, walk/dancing on my treadmill (trying to dance on a treadmill should be an official sport - so much fun), watching anything sci-fi or cosy crime related on the TV (Murder She Wrote anyone) or simply kicking back on the couch and daydreaming - also called meditation.

My Disclaimer:  
I was provided a complimentary copy of this book. I am voluntarily providing an honest review in which all opinions are fully my own. I am not being compensated in any way.

~ Judi E. Easley for Blue Cat Review



My Review: ✰✰✰⭒


I thought the cover of the Kindle book I got from the author's newsletter was really cute. The elements all came from the book and the artwork fit the vibe of the book. BUT, when I started putting this review together I discovered there is a second cover for this book and it looks like it will be used for the series rather than the one I have. I just don't care for it anywhere near as much as I do the other one, though I do like the old typewriter font that was chosen for everything but the title. It seems to be a popular font lately. What do you think of the two covers?

This was a fun read, but it had no real depth to it. The writing was pretty good, but needed smoothing out in some spots to help the flow. The pace was fast for the most part, but got bogged down towards the end with incidentals. I came away with questions that I assume the author is saving for future books in the series. Like what is the curse on the Thornheart women? Who put it there? What's the story behind Bryony's and Ivy's fathers? One was an angel and one was a demon.

Agatha comes to the Love Cauldron to get the sisters' help getting rid of the kissing curse and to find out who put it on her. Once you get into the story a bit, it's easy to figure out who had it put on her, but the surprise is who actually laid it on her! I was rolling on the floor laughing over that part! But Ivy handled it pretty well.

The pairings are fairly predictable, too. There's Gabriel who is a failed angel. He works for the Charm Police. That's the local police force that keeps the humans safe living around the magical folks. He has a real soft spot for Bryony. And then there's Kristoff. He owns the Demon's Den, a bar. Guess what he is. Yup, he's a demon and trouble. And he's got his eyes on Ivy. There's no sex and the only violence is the fight between Ivy and Kristoff at the Demon's Den.

Mr. Easley's Class has a New Book to Read!

Last school year Mr. Easley's class read The Westing Game. I read it with them and reviewed it here on my blog. I also put some of the kids' comments at the end of my review. 

This school year, the class is starting out with When Zachary Beaver Came to Town by Kimberly Willis Holt. Mr. Easley has loaned me a copy to read along with the class. So, shortly, I'll be doing a review of the book and including something from the students. 

Rabbi Ben is Back!

A Tale of Two Rabbis
A Rabbi Ben Mystery, #3
Marvin J. Wolf
Atenna Books, September 7, 2017
Epub ARC, 416 Pages
Also available in Kindle, paperback
Genre(s) Mystery
Source Author

Other books in this series

For Whom the Shofar Blows #1, A Scribe Dies in Brooklyn #2
Synopsis:  

Rabbi Ben, hero of For Whom the Shofar Blows and A Scribe Dies in Brooklyn, is back. It was the best of times, it was the worst of times—newly-engaged, Ben is in Pittsburgh for a medical procedure when he passes out in the street. He comes to in the home of Abby Silverblatt—the older sister of his ninth-grade girlfriend. Ben had saved her son from being attacked by school bullies. Invited to services at the Sanoker Shul, Abby’s tiny synagogue, Ben is asked to give a guest sermon—their Rabbi Geltkern, has disappeared. Abby’s wife Yolanda, a Pittsburgh cop, along with Abby and Stan Bernstein (who helps run the shul) ask Ben to look into Geltkern’s disappearance. Oh, and could he fill in for their rabbi while he’s at it? Ben just wants to take it easy, but how can he say no?

Sifting through the clues of Geltkern’s disappearance, Ben discovers unusual goings-on at the synagogue. Papers are missing, a mysterious motion-detection camera alerts someone on the outside when the building is occupied, and an intruder visits the premises. When Bernstein is found dead in his office, his files stripped bare, Ben knows he’s touched a nerve. The more Ben uncovers, the less it makes sense—until he begins to suspect that perhaps Geltkern isn’t really a rabbi. Using Talmudic logic, Ben pieces together the puzzle, and comes up with millions of reasons why someone would want him out of the picture. With the help of a bowling alley’s oversexed accountant looking to score a strike with our red-haired hero, Ben unravels an elaborate plot that goes back to Sanok, Poland on the eve of World War II, and beyond. It is a far, far better thing that he does, than he has ever done.


Author:  

Welcome to my page. For more information, visit www.marvinjwolf.com

I began my media career in the media as a U.S. Army combat photographer in Vietnam. Assigned to a public information section, it took a week escorting Nobel laureate John Steinbeck before I realized that writing was an important adjunct to my photo work. In Vietnam I had the great good fortune to meet and become friends with some of the world's greatest reporters and photographers, including Nobel laureate author John Steinbeck, Jonathan Fenby, Peter Arnett, Horst Faas, and many others. These men were generous with their time and wisdom and helped put me on the path to becoming a writer.

As I made the transition from magazine writing to longer forms, I was encouraged to specialize but found that I was interested in so many things that I found it impossible to choose only one. Instead I became a frequent collaborator, helping such notables as Native American leader Russell Means and former South Vietnam Prime Minister Nguyen Cao Ky with their autobiographies. I also developed an appreciation for suspense and intrigue that inevitably led me to write about crime. About 2001 I took a segue into film, and had a short but interesting career writing for television. That helped me to create a character that I've put into the Rabbi Ben Mysteries. The first of these books, "For Whom The Shofar Blows," debuted on Amazon.com in November 2011. Thanks for visiting this page, and remember that habitual readers are smarter and have more well-rounded personalities.

My Disclaimer:  

I was provided a complimentary copy of this book. I am voluntarily providing an honest review in which all opinions are fully my own. I am not being compensated in any way.
~ Judi E. Easley for Blue Cat Review



My Review: ✰✰✰✰✰
When I got an e-mail from Marvin Wolf asking about a quote for his second book's cover, I was excited, but I don't write those type of reviews that have the wonderful little pull-outs that make great cover blurbs. However, he had some even better news for me. He had a copy of his new book I could read if I didn't mind an epub format. I didn't care if it was written on toilet paper, as long as I got to read it! And he could send me a peek at the cover art in a little while, when it was finalized. Even better!

The cover art is wonderful! It packs the drama and color of the book itself, and I like that. A book and its cover should match. That poor woman's house exploding in the background certainly makes a great statement, as do the two "gentlemen" in the foreground. This time, Rabbi Ben has really gotten himself into a mess with folks who aren't playing around.

But let's back up here a moment. Remember that Ben AKA Moshe Benyamin Maimon AKA Mark T. Glass is in a medical trial for a life threatening condition he contracted back when his first wife was killed. He was only cut up, so he was a first responder during the incident. There are lots of nasty things that you can get when you have open wounds and are dealing with other people's open wounds. It's what keeps synagogues from hiring him as a rabbi. He feels he must be open and honest about it, and he is understanding but sad when they decide against taking the chance with their children.

Rabbi Ben not only solves the mystery for the shul, but he finds out things about himself, mysteries about his own past. He investigates himself the same way he does any other mystery. He unearths secrets of his past that answer questions for his future. And speaking of his future. We don't see too much of Miryam in this one. She is in Buenos Aires for most of the time and doesn't show up until the end.

This third book is chock full of the rich and sad history and culture of the Jews. Rabbi Ben shares a lot of it with us while working through his own background, while helping the small shul, and while visiting with new friends. He has such an analytical mind. And the things he knows about a person simply from the words they use. Makes me think of Professor Henry Higgins when he's telling people where they're from just by their accents. He's also a man who truly lives by his beliefs. When he can't live by them, he knows he will answer for his transgressions in heaven. It's not just a Sunday morning philosophy to him, it's the guiding principle of his life, his faith. As usual, Ben is busy making friends and enemies in this book. Make Ben's acquaintance and grab this one, hot off the press. It was just released on the 7th! I strongly recommend it to anyone who enjoys a good mystery with a personality and charm. I'm sure you'll go back and read the first two when you're done with this one.



There's Magic in Her Touch

Shadow Sight
Ivy Granger, Psychic Detective
E.J. Stevens
Sacred Oaks Press, 2012
Ebook, Pages
Also available in hardcover, paperback, audiobook
Genre(s) Fantasy, Romantic Fantasy
Source Author 

Other books in this series

Ghost Light #2, Burning Bright #3, Birthright #4, Hound's Bite #5

Synopsis:  

Winner of the PRG Reviewer's Choice Award for Best Paranormal Fantasy Novel and finalist for Best Urban Fantasy Series.

Welcome to Harborsmouth, where monsters walk the streets unseen by humans...except those with second sight, like Ivy Granger.

Some things are best left unseen.

Ivy Granger's second sight is finally giving her life purpose. Ivy and her best friend Jinx may not be raking in the dough, but their psychic detective agency pays the bills--most of the time. Their only worry is the boredom of a slow day and the occasional crazy client--until a demon walks through their door.

Demons are never a good sign.

A demon attorney representing the water fae? Stranger things have happened. And things are about to get very, very strange as a bloodthirsty nightmare hunts the city of Harborsmouth.

There's blood in the water.

Kelpies have a reputation for eating humans. Unfortunately, kelpies are the clients. When an Unseelie faerie this evil stalks the waterways of your city, you have to make hard choices.

The lesser of two evils.


Author:

E.J. Stevens is the bestselling, award-winning author of the IVY GRANGER, PSYCHIC DETECTIVE urban fantasy series, the SPIRIT GUIDE young adult series, the HUNTERS' GUILD urban fantasy series, and the WHITECHAPEL PARANORMAL SOCIETY Victorian Gothic horror series. She is known for filling pages with quirky characters, bloodsucking vampires, psychotic faeries, and snarky, kick-butt heroines. Her novels are available worldwide in multiple languages.

BTS Red Carpet Award winner for Best Novel, Raven Award finalist for Best Urban Fantasy, SYAE finalist for Best Paranormal Series, Best Novella, and Best Horror, winner of the PRG Reviewer's Choice Award for Best Paranormal Fantasy Novel, Best Young Adult Paranormal Series, Best Urban Fantasy Novel, and finalist for Best Young Adult Paranormal Novel and Best Urban Fantasy Series.

When E.J. isn't at her writing desk, she enjoys dancing along seaside cliffs, singing in graveyards, and sleeping in faerie circles. E.J. currently resides in a magical forest on the coast of Maine where she finds daily inspiration for her writing.

Connect with E.J. on Twitter @EJStevensAuthor. For more, including a list of her books, freebies, and upcoming events visit www.EJStevensAuthor.com.


My Disclaimer:  

I was provided a complimentary copy of this book. I am voluntarily providing an honest review in which all opinions are fully my own. I am not being compensated in any way.


~ Judi E. Easley for Blue Cat Review


My Review: ✰✰✰✰⭒
I've been looking forward to reading this book ever since I saw its cover. I'm a cover person and this one really appealed to me. I loved the choice of the old font for the title!

This was fast-paced, sometimes downright frantic! And that was so appropriate for this poor little town under attack! The world building and magic were really well done, too. Each species was introduced in turn along with its type of magic and its various allies and enemies, so it was relatively easy to keep track of who was who in the face of this war they suddenly faced. Some of it was traditional stuff, some not.

The characters were okay, but there could have been a bit more development done on them. There just wasn't a whole lot of time to get to know anyone in particular. And I was left with some questions, which I'm hoping will be answered in other books in the series. Like in book two! Why did Kaye redo the spell on Ivy? Who was she in the scheme of things?

There is lots of violence in this book since it's about the town being attacked by a very blood-thirsty lot. But the only one getting any sex is the succubus, so forget about that. Everyone looks the other way since she does it as an act of war during the battle.

Now, Ceffyl Dwr, the King of the Kelpies was abducted and held captive and tortured for most of the time. His life was dependent on his people's behavior, on their staying out of the fight, not helping the town. At one point, he makes a comment about Ivy's father. I'd like to know how he knew her father, or who he was. There wasn't very much time for Ceff and Ivy's relationship to develop, so I do hope they get more time in the next book. I'm looking forward to seeing that relationship happen! They are so cute together. Check out this first book and see if you don't have a new series to read!
The Spell of the Horse
Pam Billinge
Blackbird Digital Books, September 18, 2017
Ebook, 237 Pages
Also available in paperback
Genre(s) Memoirs, Self-help, Reference for Subject
Source Author

Synopsis:  

The ability of the horse to sense emotion, energy, and spirit is way beyond what most of the human world realizes. A must-read for those wishing to understand the spiritual connection between horses and humans.

When Pam’s mother was diagnosed with terminal cancer, she began to notice the way her horse responded to her emotional turmoil. Thus began an exploration into the spiritual relationship between horses and humans and their infinite capacity to help us heal. Building on her remarkable discoveries, Pam began her pioneering work as a horse-led coach and therapist. By sharing her own path to redemption through personal tragedy, and other stories of healing inspired by the incredible interactions she has observed between horse and human, Pam puts forward her uplifting insights about the true nature of the horse, setting out some simple principles to help the reader transcend life's challenges.

Discover the lessons which horse behavior have taught the author about

* managing anxiety
* surviving bereavement
* letting go of fear and finding courage to live with joy and purpose
* listening to inner wisdom without overthinking dilemmas, allowing the right things to happen in life without force

This memoir will appeal to fans of The Outrun by Amy Liptrot, The Wild Other by Clover Stroud and H is For Hawk by Helen Macdonald. Pam Billinge is a body psychotherapy professional and leadership coach at the top of her game in the UK field of horse-led therapy.


Author:  

The first horses which Pam became fascinated by were ridden by the mounted policemen she would see passing her childhood home in Liverpool on the way to supervise football matches. Little did she know, then, how these magnificent creatures would influence her adult life, not only supporting her through a number of personal tragedies but also leading to her pioneering work in horse-led psychotherapy and coaching.

In her first book, The Spell of the Horse, Pam shares her memoir and other stories inspired by the incredible interactions she has observed between horse and human. Thus she reveals the true nature of the horse whilst delivering some simple principles to help the reader transcend life’s challenges to live with purpose, self-belief, and joy.


My Disclaimer:  

I was provided a complimentary copy of this book. I am voluntarily providing an honest review in which all opinions are fully my own. I am not being compensated in any way.

~ Judi E. Easley for Blue Cat Review

My Review: ✰✰✰✰✰
What an amazing book. It's more than a memoir. More than an accounting of what happened. It's more than a reference or self-help book. Pam shares the story of her own personal journey to find a deeper relationship with her horses and an understanding of how they truly interact with people.

What started on holiday in Andalusia ended up changing her life. After a week spent riding the hill country, her head and her heart were focused on one thing. Maintaining her connection that she had made that week with horses.

Through trial and error, talking with vets and other horse people, and listening to and watching her own horses, Ms. Billinge came to an understanding of how horses perceive people and how the two species interact.

The pace is easy going. Situations are explained and people are introduced in such a way that you have no problem understanding who they are. Her personal story is used appropriately. It makes you want to spend time with horses and it makes you want to be able to slow down, meditate. The text carries you through as she worked through her personal losses and the advances of her understanding of horses, their perceptions, and the best ways for people and horses to try to work together. Her story. Her clients' stories. Bringing it all full circle.

If you like horses. If you've ever wondered how they do therapy with horses. If you've ever wondered if there might be another way to get therapy other than what you've already tried. If you're just looking for a touching story to read. Pick this up today as it is released at your local bookstore. September 18, 2017 paperback & ebook




100 Pages, no less...

I would just like to let authors and reps know that Blue Cat Review will no longer be accepting manuscripts of less than 100 pages for review, not even prequels. Prequels of less than 100 pages will be considered with the first book of the series if you wish a review. Thank you for your cooperation in this matter

Judi E. Easley
Dragon Blue, A Lie That's True
The Dragonlords of Xandakar #1
Macy Babineaux
Self-Pub, Aug 2016
Ebook, 158 Pages
Also available in paperback
Genre(s) Fantasy, Romance 
Source Author's Newsletter

Other books in this series
Dragon Red: A Fire Unfed #2; Dragon Green, A Vision Unseen #3; Dragon Black, Dragon White, Darkest Day, Brightest Night #4

Synopsis:  

Miranda Betts works as a waitress at a roadside diner in Oklahoma. Her life will change when a mysterious female customer leaves an ornate necklace in lieu of paying her check. Later, alone in her trailer, she tries on the necklace and is transported to a strange land full of people who can shift into other creatures, including fearsome dragons. And everyone thinks she's someone she's not.

Corban Everfrost leads the clan of blue dragons and rules the Icelands after the mysterious disappearance of his father. While investigating the appearance of strange interlopers from another world, his sister informs him that he is to be wed to the daughter of the Wildfire clan who has been in exile on Earth since she was an infant. Corban wants nothing to do with a new bride or the Wildfires. But when he sees the dark, fiery woman brought to his world via a magic necklace, she stirs something within him.

At first, Miranda thinks Corban is a jerk. He thinks she's an outcast from a clan he despises. But soon they will learn each other's secrets, and as they learn to love each other their relationship may be the key to saving all of Xandakar from dark forces from another world.

Dragon Blue is the first book in a planned 5-book series, The Dragonlords of Xandakar. It contains lots of fast-paced action, VERY steamy love scenes, and a happy ending.


Author:  
I'm a forty-something romance/erotica author living in Southern Louisiana. I love the challenge of trying to create believable, engaging characters, fast-paced plots, and stories that make people feel good.

I'm always looking for advance readers of my books since I'm relatively new. If you're interested in receiving free copies of upcoming books in exchange for honest reviews, or if you have a comment or question about anything, just drop me a message!


My Disclaimer:  
I was provided a complimentary copy of this book. I am voluntarily providing an honest review in which all opinions are fully my own. I am not being compensated in any way.

~ Judi E. Easley for Blue Cat Review


My Review: ✰✰✰✰⭒
A bit shallow, but fun, hot sex, sexy women, hot men, dragons, wizards, castles...just like in a fairytale!

Miranda had a pretty sad life, but she hopped on it when something better was offered, even though it was a lie. Corbin needed someone to bring him down a peg and make him a bit more humble and bearable and Miranda was just the woman to do that. He was a king, but he was careless of women, superior.

Siccora Wildfire had been a child sent away for her safety with a protector. She came to care about her protector and didn't want to marry a stranger, so she offered up an alternative and the means to make it happen. No one had seen her in years. The two women looked so much alike. So why did she show up at the wedding to stop it and claim her place? Why almost get them all killed?

And what does Siccora's brother know that he's not sharing?

Who is Miranda really?

Well, I guess you'll need to read the first book to get caught up on the first part, while I get the second book and find out what happens next, cause this looks to be one really fun series with lots happening. Recommended.
Alter Ego: A Second Chance, Secret Identity Romance
Starla Harris
Not yet published
Ebook
Genre(s) Contemporary Romance
Source Author

Synopsis:  
A SUPER SHORT, SEXY and STEAMY READ!

Sometimes you just want to be someone else. When life sucks, you just want to throw away the old you and start fresh.

For Iris Thompson, she did just that. With her life in a rut, she wanted to be wild for once in her life. So, when her best friend, Olivia, invited her to an art gala to have some fun, she stepped out, not as Iris but as Natasha, the carefree, charismatic, and charming young woman that steals the heart of the handsome billionaire Damien Flaherty.

Their daring relationship started hot and heavy in a stairwell but quickly falls apart at the seams.

With Iris forced to put on an act, guilt quickly consumes her. How long can she keep lying to the billionaire? To the man she has started to fall in love with? When he discovers her alter ego will her heart break yet again? Could Damien ever learn to love Iris or will the truth tear them apart?

Get the first story for free: www.instafreebie.com/free/4uv3j


Author:  
STARLA HARRIS loves all things romance. She especially loves reading and writing about bad boys, billionaires, and playboys. Starla lives in Colorado with two large dogs, a geriatric cat and her husband who is the love of her life and her very own prince charming!

Starla would love to hear from her readers so feel free to write to her with any questions, comments, suggestions, and requests for stories, or just say “hi” to her at starla.harris@acornauthors.com.

You can also find Starla on Facebook: www.facebook.com/starlalovesromance/.


My Disclaimer:  
I was provided a complimentary copy of the first couple of chapters to this book. I am voluntarily providing an honest review in which all opinions are fully my own. I am not being compensated in any way.

~ Judi E. Easley for Blue Cat Review

My Review: ✰✰✰⭒
When I got this "book" I was under the impression it was the whole book until I got to the end. I wasn't happy to suddenly be out of book. Then, I read some of the reviews and one explained that there is a preview version and a complete version. Obviously, I had the preview version of the first couple of chapters. I'm in the process of trying to get the complete version because the preview version really startled me.

Iris starts out totally depressed and in the dumps at first. Can't even seem to get herself cleaned up and dressed, never mind make the effort to do something. Her roommate convinces her to go to an art gala with her. She meets a man and all of a sudden a switch in her head flips and she's decided she's in need of a wild sexual adventure and seduces the guy on the stairway at the art gala under an assumed name! End of preview.

Yes, so...

Both the in the dumps and sexual seductress are totally believable as written. Which one is the true Iris Thompson? Well, that's what I want to know! That's why I want to read the whole story! That's why I'm trying so hard to get my hands on a copy of Alter Ego! News at 11...

NEW RELEASE from HAZEL HUNTER! Lachlan, Immortal Highlanders, A Scottish Time Travel Romance

Lachlan
Immortal Highlander Series, #1
Hazel Hunter
Allure Press, Sep 2017
Kindle, 368 Pages
Also available in paperback
Genre(s) Paranormal Romance, Time-travel
Source Author 

Other books in this series
Tharaen #2

Synopsis:  

In a place she doesn’t belong, in a time that is not her own, a shattered woman risks everything for the one thing she’s never had—love.

When Kinley Chandler abruptly lands in medieval Scotland, there isn’t much she’s leaving behind. With her body shattered and her military career over, Kinley has resigned herself to death. But in the past, all that changes.

Lachlan McDonnel, the laird of a clan of immortal Highlanders, can hardly believe his good fortune. Not only does the mysterious lass save his life, she awakens his heart in a way he’d thought no longer possible.

But the druid spells that allow Lachlan’s clan to live forever have a dark side as well. He and his men know all too well that the magic folk never give without taking. Though he is sworn to protect them, the price of his loyalty may finally be too high.

Lachlan is the first book in the Immortal Highlander series. If you love brawny heroes, a mystical world, and a heroine with courage, then you’ll love this sizzling series. Join the romantic realm of the Immortal Highlanders by picking up a copy of this book today.


Author:  
Hazel and her husband stopped being separate people years ago. They live their happy life in the always crowded, mostly sunny, and sometimes sweltering city of LA. Though they haven’t managed it yet, plans are afoot to add a kitty to the household, thereby giving the allergist fits.

Hazel has been writing full-time for several years, with some traditionally published work in other genres. But it’s her indie-published romance that fuels the creative fire. It turns out writing isn’t a job, it’s an obsession.

When you can pry Hazel’s fingers from the laptop, you’ll find her: on the elliptical watching a documentary, indulging her audio book habit, or spending quality time with Candy Crush. Although she’s vegan, she’s a disaster in the kitchen. Luckily, potato chips and pinot noir come ready-made.


My Disclaimer:  
I was provided a complimentary copy of the preview of this book. I am voluntarily providing an honest review in which all opinions are fully my own. I am not being compensated in any way.

~ Judi E. Easley for Blue Cat Review

My Review: ✰✰✰✰⭒
Just released this week! I read just the preview of the first few chapters, but the whole novel was released this week.

Kinley Chandler is a dying Air Force veteran in a VA hospital. She was injured in an ambush in Afghanistan. She tries to kill herself and falls through a portal to a stone ring in 14th century Scotland. She is totally healed in the process as well as given the power to call fire to fight the undead Romans.

Lachlan, Laird of the clan McDonnel, is an immortal who the Romans previously slaughtered along with all his people. The druids cast a spell and brought them back as immortals because they were protecting the druids at the time. Lachlan has a bodyguard named Tharaen who is saved later in the book by Kinley. During that incident both Tharaen and Lachlan seen her injured form and finally believe her whole story about the future and her experience.

The pace is fast. The characters are interesting and individuals. The story line is interesting and sets things up really well for the series to follow. The men are big and strong, but not brutes. The women are smart and sexy. The sex is hot! The ending has lots of potential for more to follow but is not a cliffhanger.

This has the potential to be a really interesting series with some interesting characters. The writing is quite good and kept me engaged. Now I need to get the whole first book to read to see where Lachlan and Kinley go from here! Get your copy and find out for yourself. Recommended.

An Amazing World...

Refugees
Mud, Rocks, and Trees Series, #1
R.A. Denny
Self-Pub, Apr 2017
Kindle, 273 Pages
In digital only
Genre(s) Debut Novel, Fantasy
Source Author

Other books in this series
Seekers #2, Captives #3

Synopsis:  
"An epic journey of a lifetime." That's what three young individuals from three different corners of the world have dreamed about. They were destined for greatness since the moment they were born. But what if they don't want it? What if they're not ready? What if their desires no longer align with the prophecy?

The problem is, they have no choice. The star has appeared. Their destiny has already begun to unfold.

It's not the send-off that they've been dreaming of. Forced out. Banished. Raided. This wasn't how it was supposed to be. Now they must discover who they really are while embarking on the most exciting journey of their lives. One star. One impossible task. One chance to save the world they love. 


Author:

R.A. Denny is an ancient history buff with a law degree from Duke University. While working as a criminal prosecutor by day, she escaped by night to create the fantasy world of her Mud, Rocks, and Trees series.
R.A. Denny loves adventure, animals and history. She has travelled to the ancient rock city of Petra on horseback, flown through the jungles of Costa Rica on zip lines and visited the Great Pyramid on a camel. She lives in Delaware. As a child, she had two pet flying squirrels.


My Disclaimer:  
I was provided a complimentary copy of this book. I am voluntarily providing an honest review in which all opinions are fully my own. I am not being compensated in any way.

~ Judi E. Easley for Blue Cat Review

My Review: ✰✰
This is a debut novel. I was very impressed with the author's ability to create a setting that I could see so clearly in my mind's eye. Ms. Denny's ability to make you see what is going on is quite amazing. She has created a world that is a piece of art. Each area where the different cultures live is as different as the characters that live there. The cultures do not appear to mingle except in the cities.

Ms. Denny has created some rather charming characters to act on her stage. Each character has different animal-like features, such as scaly armor like an armadillo or "wings" like a flying squirrel. They are young and are called by destiny, by a star suddenly appearing in the sky. None of them knows why they are called, but they all respond. For each of their cultures, their response ends in violence, bloodshed, and death.

While this all sounds wondrous and exciting, it really came across as rather plodding. The pace seemed to be fast, and yet no progress seemed to be made for all the effort. At 60%, I gave up the effort. I read several reviews of this book and found that some other readers had found the book wonderful and still others had had similar problems to my own.

Never judge a book by its cover. I'm sure you've heard that before. However, many readers do just that. That's why authors work so hard to get really eye-catching artwork for their covers. I really wasn't enamored of the cover. It related to the story, but it wasn't appealing. In fact, I kept putting off starting the book because of the cover until I had to set a start date to make me pick it up. Perhaps, I should have trusted my instincts about the cover and decided this book was not for me. This book currently has a 4.33 rating on GoodReads and a similar one on Amazon, so somebody likes it well enough to give it good ratings. This may be one of those books that simply needs to find the correct audience. Perhaps, if you read it and really like it you'll drop me a note and tell my the secret you found in the book that made you like it so much. Perhaps, I will be tempted to attempt it again.

This book is #1 of 3 in the story line.

The Couple With Too Many Helpers!

MOONSTONE BEACH
Main Street Merchants Series, #1
Linda Seed
Self-Pub, Jul 2016
Ebook, 287 Pages
Also available in paperback
Genre(s) Contemporary Romance
Source Author 

Other books in this series
Like That Endless Cambria Sky, Nearly Wild, Fire and Glass

Synopsis:  
Kate Bennet owns a small bookstore in Cambria, California—the kind of shop that smells like mildew, furniture wax, and old pages, the kind where you’ll find a cat napping atop the used biographies. Two years out from a divorce that left her emotionally fragile, Kate is starting to think that maybe she’s ready for love again—or at least for a fling with a hot man. Jackson Graham is a local chef who’s controlling when it comes to food, careless when it comes to women, and temperamental when it comes to just about everything.

When Kate’s friends mobilize to set things up between Kate and Jackson, she expects some casual pleasure followed by a hasty goodbye, but Jackson’s long-term crush on Kate means that he’s in this one to win. The problem is, neither he nor Kate knows whether he can change the self-defeating habits that usually send women scurrying for the door as soon as the afterglow fades.

Throw in a beautiful backdrop of rocky beaches and rugged coastline, a manipulative father, a Mary Kay–pushing stepmother, a yapping Pomeranian, and a nervous ring-tailed lemur, and you’ve got Moonstone Beach, the first contemporary romance in a series of four about Kate and her friends, Gen, Lacy, and Rose.


Author:
 
Linda Seed is the author of a series of contemporary romance novels set in Cambria, California. A former journalist with more than 15 years in the news business at publications including the San Diego Union-Tribune and the Ventura County Star, Linda began writing fiction at age 16 and published her first novel more than thirty years later. She works as a freelance fiction editor for independent authors. Linda shares her time between Murrieta, California, and Cambria with her husband, art writer John Seed, and their three children.

My Disclaimer:  
I was provided a complimentary copy of this book. I am voluntarily providing an honest review in which all opinions are fully my own. I am not being compensated in any way.

~ Judi E. Easley for Blue Cat Review

My Review: ✰✰✰✰
This was not a fun book. Now let me clarify that statement. It was not fun as in funny, because it was too intense to be fun. It was a really good read, totally compelling. I sat down and didn't move until I was finished with it.

Kate and Jackson could have a really great relationship, if only...

Kate has a tiny apartment filled up with her father, stepmother and yippy dog. SURPRISE! She has an inherited employee who has no respect for her and won't get out of her face. She's got a business to run and it takes long hours.
Her three BFFs aren't helping, but they are trying! Zach and his ex-wife certainly aren't helping.

Jackson wants this to be different. He wants Kate to have a different attitude. He works long hours and they aren't the same ones Kate works. He has just been offered his dream job, but it isn't in Cambria. His three friends aren't much help either! It's amazing they ever get together, but that's telling!

Fast paced. Good Tension. Great characters and story line. If it has one fault, it's that it has so many helpers, they got confused. But what a read. I'm looking for time for the next three books! I strongly recommend this one!