Back to Top

Friday, July 29, 2016

Throw Away Girls by Jennifer Vaugh

30847165 Throw Away Girls by Jennifer Vaugh
Published by Waldorf Publishing, July 15, 2016, ebook, NetGalley
I was provided a copy of this book by Waldorf Publishing and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. I am not being compensated in any way. The opinions stated are fully my own. ~ Judi E. Easley

GoodReads Summary:
Hard-charging and ambitious, LA TV reporter Jaycee Wilder is hungry for the big story. When dead girls begin to pile up at seedy nightclubs that cater to fetish-seeking strangers, Jaycee suspects a serial killer is at work. She aligns herself with a former east coast cop trying to resurrect himself--and his once stellar career--from a drunken skid.
The killer hunts the Throw Away Girls at night, punishing them for their dark urges. He leaves messages behind in his victims' blood, his explanation for enacting such brutal, twisted justice upon the unworthy. As Jaycee follows her gut, and the evidence, she forces him to act. But when a killer is clever and cunning, he can infiltrate anywhere. Jaycee must use all her skills to expose him before he gets to her first.


My Review:
The book starts out with a young woman fighting for her life in a place she's embarassed to be found. We listen to the dialogue between the young woman and her tormentor. Then we are in her thoughts as she nears her death and she's thinking of the people who love her.

From the intensity of that scene to the young couple you meet next is like flipping a switch. But this is Jaycee and her boyfriend, Van. Jaycee is a news reporter for a local TV station and the news story about the death of a young woman catches her eye. It captures her mind as well. This is the third such death in a short period of time. She feels sure this is a serial killer, but nothing has been said by news or police. Why? When she gets to work, she convinces her boss to let her have the follow up on the story. She and her trusty photographer take off to investigate. 

Jaycee gets deeply involved in the case as the body count rises and things get more dangerous. Things get more personal and the people around her try to get her to back off from the investigation. Even the cop she's working with warns her to be careful. Her photographer keeps trying to get her to handle other stories. She gets a message from the killer. Her boyfriend is missing. She knows who the killer is.

Get this book and read it this weekend! It's really a great read. I look forward to more Jaycee Wilder stories from Jennifer Vaughn. I have to be honest, my initial interest was because Jennifer works for my local station. Yay, Jen!

Thursday, July 28, 2016

ootd 7/28/2016

ootd 7/28/2016

Mine is actually faded black denim and gray and cream stripes with coral shoes and earrings. Close enough! The cat is gray and the handbag is amazing close to the one I carry!

The Digital Gallery presents: The Dark Bird

The dark bird, the evil one, the crone's companion, the raven. I am fascinated with ravens. They are so quick and intelligent and beautiful.

A Raven's Moon
The Raven's Moon
by mrscharley

Favourate Animal - #9 Raven
Favorite Animal
by girlinthebigbox

Ghosts Cast No Shadows, Nor Do They Bleed
Ghosts Cast No Shadows, Nor Do They Bleed
by mrscharley

#raven#confused
Raven Confused
by tajchy-milosevic

Ravens' Treasure
Raven's Treasure
by mrscharley

Raven's Horde
Raven's Horde
by elsiemarley22

Someone's been peeking into my thoughts...
Someone's been peeking into my thoughts...
by mrscharley

*quoth the raven, nevermore*
"Quoth the Raven, Nevermore"
by karineg

Lady Raven
Lady Raven
by lastchance

Well, I am very sorry to be late with this today. After yesterday's mess with the connection, I completely forgot that this was incomplete and unscheduled. I was in the middle of something else this morning when I remembered. So here it is for today. A wonderful display though, even if it is a bit tardy. This lovely bird guards the monarchy of England from the Tower of London. When I was there I heard the story of the ravens and really fell in love with them. I bought a stuffed raven (stuffed animal, soft and cuddly) and he sits here in my office looking over my shoulder. I was fascinated to see them roaming free on the grounds of the Tower. A fascinating place all by itself.

See you tomorrow with the review of a book that really was scary and written by my local TV anchor woman, Throw Away Girls. Enjoy your Thursday!
Judi and the Blue Cat

Wednesday, July 27, 2016

ootd 7/27/2016

ootd 7/27/2016

I'm working, but I'm taking it slow and easy and taking breaks as I need them. My neck and hand are still not too happy about sitting at the computer, but for short periods I can handle it. Then stretching exercises and planning for (deep breath!) the Fall!

Serene and Spa-like

Serene and Spa-like

The hardware and tiling of the subway. The elegance of a claw-foot tub. The soothing colors of a spa. And a hint of the forest. It all adds up to a serene feeling.

Tuesday, July 26, 2016

Summer Style

Sorry everyone! I've been having internet connectivity problems today. I've finally got my internet back and now you have Your Week in Fashion!

This is a "whatever week". I have one theme this week. "It's hot and humid, stick by the air conditioner". So here's this week's collection!

Summer Style 1
Is this blue? It wasn't supposed to be blue. This was supposed to be more a peacock color. I've been told I do a lot of blue, so I'm trying to do more of other colors. I'm trying!

Summer Style 2
See? No blue here! I'm getting better!
Summer Style 3
And you can't call this blue, either! White with touches of palest grey.

Summer Style 4
Hey, I'm doing pretty well here! Soft peachy tones with white!
Summer Style 5
Okay, so maybe I do this a lot, but it's not blue!
Summer Style 6
Yes, there's blue here. BUT, there's also this true red and white, too!
Summer Style 7
Do we have to count the denim as blue? This is really a red outfit!
Summer Style 8
Okay, I admit, this one is blue. But it's really a great outfit!

And now you have eight ways to survive a hot humid week! And for the most part, you can do it in colors other than blue!

See you tomorrow for a peek at a serene bathroom. Enjoy your Tuesday!
Judi and Blue Cat

Monday, July 25, 2016

ootd 7/25/2016

ootd 7/25/2016

Had a little accident on Saturday. I blacked out and fell. Having some trouble with my right hand and my neck. Of course, I'm right Handed! Life happens.

Wintercombe by Pamela Belle

30923166 Wintercombe by Pamela Belle
Kindle Edition, 624 pages
Published July 4th 2016 by Endeavour Press (first published September 15th 1988)
Copy of ebook provided by Endeavour Press and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. I am not being compensated in any way. All opinions are fully my own. ~Judi E. Easley

GoodReads Summary:
Sometimes we find light in the darkest of places…

Tortured by a cold, Puritan father, Silence has learned to conceal her passionate nature inside a prison like shell of passivity. Her eventual marriage does not offer her the escape that she longs for and she craves some semblance of autonomy.

It is only the sweep of history that finally offers Silence the freedom she so desires. Civil war has raged and her sombre husband has been away for two years.

During this time Silence – now Mistress of Wintercombe – has enjoyed a harmonious time with her children. Yet this sheltered world is shattered when enemy Cavaliers invade, causing havoc in the town. Wintercombe, once a tranquil bastion of family virtue, is transformed into an unruly, drunken, and licentious garrison. As the ugliness of war continues, Silence must learn to shed the submissive nature that life has forced her to assume and draw upon the inner strength that she has always possessed. From this turmoil a still more subtle threat dawns in the handsome shape of Captain Nick Hellier.

As the battle for England is matched by the struggle within her soul, it’s not long before Captain Hellier starts to slowly unlock the chains around Silence’s fragile, Puritan heart…


My Review:
I had read the summary in GoodReads and read other readers' reviews and comments. I was really looking forward to reading this book. Initially, the book didn't seem very thrilling, though. Where was the book that everyone had been so excited about? I hung in there and kept reading and quickly found out what all the excitement was about. 

Silence should have hated men. She had grown up with an abusive father. She had a neglectful and careless husband. The times were such, that women of her religion and station were disposable and worked to death. She was married to a man of a higher station and she really hadn't a clue how to fill that role. So she creates a place for herself in her own way. Three stepchildren who resent her. Four children she has given her husband. A house full of servents who don't accept her. And village folk who don't understand her ways. She's the outsider in every way. And her husband is supremely indifferent.

But now her husband and his oldest son are off to war to support Parlaiment. Unfortunately, the troops that come to be billeted at Silence's estate aren't Parlaiment's troops. They are the royalist troops, Cavaliers, the enemy. She's seen as a traitor and is almost tossed out of her own home. Living with the enemy is no fun. In fact, it's down right dangerous. Enemy troops can be lecherous and spiteful, free with their weapons and tempers, and threatening in every way imaginable. 

With her loyal maid, Mally and her children, Silence rises to each challenge. With some help, it seems from the Captain of the enemy troops as well. He's always putting in a good word with the manic Colonel, or redirecting his temper when it gets out of hand. The Captain, Nick, seems to be on her side. Or is he? For quite a while, she really can't tell whose side the Captain is on. Nick does manage to keep her and the children from getting killed or having her estate totally destroyed. And much to his surprise, he discovers his heart has taken a different side than his head. Though his head has smartened up with all that has happened throughout this war and has changed sides as well. Silence is just trying to be a good Puritan wife, but somehow her heart has taken its own course as well.

But the war is winding down and soldiers and troops are coming home. Including Silence's husband and his troops. Too many lives are in the balance, innocent lives. They must be sensible and consider others. So Nick and the few remaining Cavaliers march off into the sunset as George and his troops march up to the front door. Silence greets George a more independent woman than the one he left. This is a woman who has survived trial by fire. She is strong and will stand up for herself and those she cares for. You know that her marriage will not be the same now as it was before George marched off to war. Her children, her servants and the village have all joined her at various time to help her through. She in turn has done things to help all of them through. Silence has made her place here. She has been taken to their hearts under the most stressful conditions.

Would I recommend this book? Oh yes, to anyone who enjoys historical fiction novels and a good cry! In fact, I'm recommending this to my daughter, who's a history major and loves British history. Pick it up or download it and get lost in Silence's story. It is worth it!

Friday, July 22, 2016

ootd 7/22/2016

ootd 7/22/2016

My sister and I are hanging a quilt and some other things for Mom this morning. Then we're coming back here to do some planning. She and I both have closets and rooms that need some organizing and some storage areas that need unstuffing. We're going to alternate and work on both houses to get the spaces done. Now that she's retired, she's got more time to work on these things. Plus, she has some software expertise to teach me and I have some internet expertise (yes, I do!) to teach her. It'll give us lots of time to spend together and enjoy our sister relationship! 

Be sure to check out those Monday and Friday book reviews. There are some really good books coming up. Some just released and some soon to be released. I've started reading for NetGalley, so I read them before they get printed! There are some really awesome books coming up in the next couple of months! Enjoy your Friday and the rest of the weekend!

Ludwika by Christoph Fischer

28111034  Ludwika by Christoph Fischer
GoodReads Summary:
It’s World War II and Ludwika Gierz, a young Polish woman, is forced to leave her family and go to Nazi Germany to work for an SS officer. There, she must walk a tightrope, learning to live as a second-class citizen in a world where one wrong word could spell disaster and every day could be her last. Based on real events, this is a story of hope amid despair, of love amid loss . . . ultimately, it’s one woman’s story of survival.

Editorial Review:
"This is the best kind of fiction—it’s based on the real life. Ludwika’s story highlights the magnitude of human suffering caused by WWII, transcending multiple generations and many nations.

WWII left no one unscarred, and Ludwika's life illustrates this tragic fact. But she also reminds us how bright the human spirit can shine when darkness falls in that unrelenting way it does during wartime.

This book was a rollercoaster ride of action and emotion, skilfully told by Mr. Fischer, who brought something fresh and new to a topic about which thousands of stories have already been told.
"

My Review:
I read the whole book and then I read what the author based his book on, what he had for research and what he added for bulking out his story. This is quite an amazing story about this one young woman's life during the war. Her life is a story of constant loss and leaving. Of pain and death and not knowing. Of trying so hard for so little. Of never understanding why people should hate her for where she was born and who her parents were. Of never understanding why one person should be any better than another. Ludwika was a good person. To understand that, you have to believe in good and evil. If you don't, you will never understand the book.

I like books with happy endings, you know HEA? This is not my typical book. No HEA here. They all die with all their problems unresolved. It is brutal. But every once in a while, I choose a book like this to read for some reason. Maybe I think they're good for my soul. 

I acquired this book from Bookbub (Amazon) for very little. All opinions are fully my own. I am not being compensated for this review.
Judi E. Easley.