Back to Top

Thursday, May 26, 2016

"There is no place like the beach...where the land meets the sea and the sea meets the sky." ~Umair Siddiqui

sign

It's the last Thursday in May and it's time to start the beach themes. So I have beach related art for you today to lead you into your weekend, which here in the US of A is Memorial Day weekend. Typically the beginning of beach season.
Beach Dreamin'
Beach Dreamin'
by mrscharley
The original portrait piece is assumed to be done by Wendy Ng. The digital collage is an embellishment of that with twenty additional pieces added to it to create a different piece while still honoring the integrity of the original piece.

3057 - Sunset

Sunset
by niwi

End of Day
End of the Day
by mrscharley
A curious gull checks out what the beach people left behind as the sun turns the water and the beach sand into a sparkling light show.

Beach Frolic
Beach Frolic
by awsewell

Just you, the seagulls and the sunshine
Just you, the seagulls, and the morning sunshine
by mrscharley
The peace and quiet of a morning walk on the beach before the day gets started, crowded, and noisy.

Beach Bag
Beach Bag
by beet-1

The Prophet
The Prophet
by mrscharley

Surf & Sky
Surf and Sky
by beet-1

I hope you enjoyed this vicarious trip to the beach with me. For those of you with a long weekend ahead, stay safe and have lots of fun! See you all back here Tuesday for another week of style! Don't forget to answer the question below!
Judi and the Blue Cat

Question: Are you a blogger? Yes, No, Thinking about it.

Use the buttons to answer the question. You have to actually be on the bog to do this.

Tuesday, May 24, 2016

Summer Pastels for You!

sign

Summer Pastels, just for you! Since we're starting to get some of that hot and hazy weather, it's really time to get going on the summer attire. So here's a week's worth of pretty pastels to wear.
Summer Pastels 1

Nothing's more summery than yellow, so bright and sunny.

Summer Pastels 2

Pretty coral slip dress with a rainbow colored kimono.

Short & Sweet Contest Entry

White denim coveralls and a soft peachy cold-shoulder top makes for a really sweet look.

Summer Pastels 7

Lavender and pink in a pretty shirtdress look. (though I think I'd like mine a little bit longer)

Summer Pastels 5

Mix and match your summer pastels for a real summery look even at the office.

Feminine but Functional Contest Entry

Summer sandals and summer flowers are just right for each other.

Summer Pastels 3

White jeans or white denim shorts are always a plus with summer pastels.

Summer Pastels 6

There's nothing like a clear sky blue with white for a cool summer look! So look through your summer wardrobe and start making summer pastel outfits before the weather gets one degree hotter!

See you Thursday for some great art!
Judi and the Blue Cat

Question: Are you a blogger? Yes or No

Friday, May 20, 2016

Have You Been a Dissatisfied Customer of This Chinese Clothing Group?

On April 15, 2016 I posted a brief article about an Asian retail group that was shortchanging their customers with some pretty nasty deals. This is a follow-up to that article.

The company involved is Global Egrow. It is the umbrella company for a group of clothing retailers including but not limited to DressLily, RoseWholesalers, RoseGal, SammyDress, Zaful, NastyDress, TwinkleDeals, and TrendsGal. I do not know what their other companies are. These are the ones named in the article I read in BuzzFeedNews. The article was a follow-up written by the same journalist who wrote the original article, Sapna Maheshwari.

In Sapna's article, the spokesperson for Global Egrow stated that they have been and continue to attempt to address these problems of the poor quality products. They mostly blamed it on the fact that they get photos from their many, many suppliers and that the merchandise doesn't meet their standards either. They will be taking all their own photos from now on. Though there still remain some problematic photos on their websites at this time according to statements made by some FaceBook reviewers.

Global Egrow says they will not be addressing the issue of return postage. If a customer wants to return an item, then they will have to pay return postage to China, or keep the item. The spokesperson for the group said that paying the return postage could cause financial problems for the company that would not allow them to make payroll and cause hardship for their employees. 

There is a group on FaceBook trying to make consumers aware of this situation. The group is called SCAM ALERT & Real Customer Reviews (Zaful, Rosegal, Dresslily, etc.) and just last week they got over 4,000 new members. I'd say Global Egrow has a problem on its hands. What do you think?

Labels Global Egrow
Judi and the Blue Cat

Thursday, May 19, 2016

Once she knows how to read, there's only one thing you can teach her to believe in, and that is herself. ~Virginia Woolf

sign

The pieces today are either about or feature books in them. Some you may have to look a bit to see the books, as the artists may tend to disguise them. Hope you enjoy the show!
read a book

Read a Book
by mrscharley
Dick Tracy
Dick Tracy
by elsiemarley22
How many of you had a comic book collection? How many of you still do?

The Wedding Dress by Rachel Hauck

The Wedding Dress by Rachel Hauck
by mrscharley
This is a fabulous book to read! If you're looking for something this summer, this is worth picking up.

Sip Tea and Read Books
Sip Tea and Read Books
by skpg
I like the journaling look to this piece.

Scheherazade and her 1001 stories

Scheherazade and her 1001 stories
by mrscharley

*I love books*

I love books
by karineg
That about sums it up! I just love reading books! What great books would you suggest I read?

Spirits of the West

Spirits of the West
by mrscharley

Hope you enjoyed the show! See you Tuesday with a week's worth of fashion looks and a new question. Don't forget to answer this week's question below, if you didn't get it on Tuesday.

Enjoy your weekend!
Judi and the Blue Cat

Question:Are you  still employed,  self employed,  permanently disabled/retired? Use the buttons below to answer this question.

Tuesday, May 17, 2016

A Week's Worth of Summer Dresses

sign

That's right! A whole week's worth of summer dresses. Wearing a dress sometimes feels like a lot of work. Not these dresses and not in the summertime! Summer dresses make life easy!

Contest Entry

This look was put together for a Polyvore contest that had to feature the Polyvore necklace. But it's an easy summer look. A white shirtdress with black and white accessories. I chose a leather wrap belt for it, but a fabric belt would look nice as well. And as always, flat sandals could be worn in place of the gorgeous heels.
Summer dress 1

A snap front denim dress is always an easy look. I think I'd leave a few snaps open to catch a summer breeze! The strappy sandals have a medium height heel that's a nice chunky walkable heel. Plus the color is one that makes legs look so long. So for those of you who wear heels, this is a really nice shoe. 
Summer dress 2

I can hear you now, "a brown dress for summer?" Yes, a pretty cocoa colored dress with bare shoulders, elastic gathering all through the middle and a softly gathered skirt that sweeps down to mid calf for a pretty, romantic look. The gold jewelry and coral accessories brighten it up and make a summer tan glow.
Summer dress 3

Flowers on a cute denim off-the-shoulder dress. This one worn with sneakers for comfort and more flowers to make a pretty summer look even prettier.
Summer dress 4

Another off-the-shoulder dress with flowers. This one sweeps down to midcalf. Flowers on your jewelry and sunnies. Bows on your bag and sneakers. Summer looks are easy and comfy!
Contest Entry

Black and white. Stars and polka dots. Pink and red. Flowers and planets. Sounds like a Peter Max summer or maybe just a bit retro? Maybe. This little sheath is colored and patterned all over. I just kept it going with a polka dot sweater, earrings and handbag. And flowered shoes.
Summer dress 5

This one is really fun! The motifs on the dress are so cute and crazy! I had to add more with the tote bag and then pompoms on the sandals. Large red hooped earrings and ice blue sunnies finish the look!

If you don't have any fun summer dresses in your closet, now might be the time to go looking for them and add a couple to your wardrobe. Summer dress-ing really is easy and fun!

Enjoy your week and I'll see you on Thursday with some great digital artwork!
Judi and the Blue Cat

Question: Are you still employed? Self-employed? Or maybe retired or permanently disabled?
Use the buttons below to answer the question, please.

Thursday, May 12, 2016

Gardens are made of darkness and light entwined. ~F.T. McKinstry, Crowharrow

sign

Do you enjoy gardens? I do. Today I have some garden pieces for you of all different types of gardens. Hope you enjoy!
Katerina
Katerina
by mrscharley
A lovely young woman in her garden.

Garden of Fashion Delights
Garden of Fashion Delights
by skpg

Daisy's Garden
Daisy's Garden
by mrscharley
A beautiful woman in a field of daisies.

Today Is Beautiful
Today is Beautiful
by lastchance

Butterflies' Garden
Butterflies' Garden
by mrscharley
Butterflies are drawn to red, pink and purple flowers in the sunshine.

Garden ....
Garden
by awewa
Looks like good eating this summer!

Rosey Gets Gardening Advice from Mrs. Bug
Rosey Gets Gardening Advice from Mrs. Bug
by mrscharley
I wonder if either of them notices the seeds are still planting themselves while they chat?!

*garden party*
Garden Party
by karineg

Garden of Serenity
Garden of Serenity
by mrscharley

Moon Garden
Moon Garden
by mrscharley

The Spider's Garden
The Spider's Garden
by mrscharley


Hope you enjoyed the gardens! 

The questions to answer for the blog "survey" will be posted Tuesdays and Thursdays. They will only be there for one week and will change each Tuesday morning. I'd really like your feedback on these questions so that I can know you better and do a better job on my blog. Look forward to sharing again on Tuesday!

Have a great weekend!
Judi and the Blue Cat

Question: What age range do you fall into?
a. 49 and under    b. 50-59    c. 60 and up 

Wednesday, May 11, 2016

Oops! I did it again, didn't I!

Sorry! I should know better than to try to adjust anything on here by now! I always seem to goof it all up. Sorry about the skinny window and missing information yesterday. I think I've got it all back where it needs to be now. And the missing Question is in place for those of you who looked for it and couldn't find it. The Question will be in place until next Tuesday, so there's plenty of time to catch up.

Enjoy your week! Judi

Tuesday, May 10, 2016

May Flowers are Here!

sign

Eight ways to do May Flowers!

May Flowers 1

Bright flowers cover this maxidress. Add yellow and green accessories and you're blooming!

May Flowers 2

A totally different look. Soft pink and gray on ivory with silvery gray and soft pink accessories creates a very ladylike look.

May Flowers 3

Stripes and flowers welcome polka dots in this B&W and red look.

May Flowers 4

This gorgeous floral top sets the tone for the outfit with its soft greens and bright rosey tones.

May Flowers 5

And going to the other end of the spectrum, here's the black outfit with flowers!

May Flowers 6

The trendy slip dress brings in all the pretty flowers you could possibly need in one outfit!

May FLowers 7

This is orange being subtle and classy.

May Flowers 8

Kicking up your heels in these pretty floral sandals!

Whether you do it with a large item like a dress, or you do it with a small item like shoes, toss some May Flowers into your wardrobe right now!


I'm going to be adding some survey type questions at the bottom of each post for awhile. These will help me fine tune what I put into my posts for you. I hope all of you will participate by answering the questions. Take a look below to see the first question and take a  moment to answer it. I look forward to getting your answers and to sharing with you again on Thursday.

Judi and the Blue Cat

Question: What age range do you fall into? 
a. 49 and under    b. 50-59    c. 60 and up