Back to Top

Friday, June 24, 2016

Her Sanctuary by Toni Anderson

23256949 Her Sanctuary
by Toni Anderson Book #1 of Her Series

GoodReads Summary:

Running for her life, ex-FBI agent Elizabeth Ward escapes to Montana with a new identity. She craves peace and solitude, but instead finds handsome rancher, Nat Sullivan.

Nat is trying to hold his ailing family together, while struggling to keep the ranch from bankruptcy. The last thing the cowboy needs is a beautiful stranger reminding him there is more to life than work.

But Elizabeth isn't what she seems. And when a murderer and rapist track her down to the remote ranch, they all find out about the power of revenge.



Revenge or Redemption. Which would you choose?

**This Romantic Suspense was originally published in 2006 and then again in 2009.**


My Review:

I have never read any of Toni Anderson's work before. This was not a bad start at all. The book isn't perfect, but it blew me away anyway. This heroine is a tough gal who's been through abduction and rape and is now being pursued by her demon once again. Why? Because the Feds, who she worked for, let him walk for evidence. She asked a friend for help, and her friend is in the line of fire now as well. She's hired an assassin to take out this guy if he ever gets close enough to her to get his hands on her again. She's rich, so money's not an issue. Good thing, too. Because the good looking hero in the story, has a family farm he's trying to save and is going to need the money real soon. He doesn't know that, though. He just knows he can't let her go and he can't let her get hurt. She's his to protect. She doesn't want to leave, but she doesn't want to bring trouble to the farm and she has to try to save that friend of hers. Oops, no one moved soon enough. The bad guy's here.

Well, if you can get past the idea that a woman who's been violently raped is falling in love with an unknown man not too long after the rape, then this works. Eliza and Nat are a great couple. They both are very busy trying to take care of other people. They are both strong people with good intentions. They are both lonely people with an emptiness that needs filling. They come together in a way that isn't typical so their defenses aren't clicking on all cylinders. They have both just been through a major crisis in their lives, leaving them hurting. They fit each other's needs. They fall.

I logged this into GoodReads before bedtime on the 17th, then read it in one sitting on the 18th. It was good, really good. She's fiery and outsmarts everyone, even the ones who trained her at the FBI. He's warm and gentle and just never stops trying to take care of those he sees as his. Together they survive the worst the bad guys can throw at them.

Read this book this summer, but bring your sunscreen. You won't want to put it down once you start.

I acquired this book through BookBub (Amazon) for nothing. The Summary I use on my blog is the GoodReads Summary, but the Review is fully my own opinion.

Judi Easley at Blue Cat Review
"http://www.bluecatreview.us" 

Book #2 and Book #3 of Her Series:


18805904        23018254



Thursday, June 23, 2016

ootd 6/23/2016

ootd 6/23/2016

I have an appointment in Manchester and Buggy's not happy, but I'll be home to work all afternoon. So she'll be able to snooze on the bed then.

To go out with the setting sun on an empty beach is to truly embrace your solitude. ~ Jeanne Moreau

sign

I've got beach scenes for you today! Late June and it's definitely time to do the beach, so here it is!

The Beach is Calling

The Beach is Calling
by mrscharley

Fun in the sun
Fun in the Sun
by no-where-girl

at the beach house
At the Beach House
by mrscharley

Dear Ocean...
Dear Ocean
by lindafaulkner-adams

Swimming with Friends
Swimming with Friends
by mrscharley

Set Sail
Set Sail
by skpg

A Day at the Beach or Who Gets Pinched First?
A Day at the Beach or Who Gets Pinched First?
by mrscharley

Color Pot on Beach
Color Pot on Beach
kathy-martenson-sanko

Well, is that enough sand in your sneakers for one day? Hope you enjoyed the show! Which one was your favorite? See you tomorrow with a review of a book I just read called Her Sanctuary by Toni Anderson, an adventurous romance.

Enjoy your day!
Judi and the Blue Cat



Wednesday, June 22, 2016

Another Change I Have Made Here...Please, Let Me Know What You Think!

I finally smartened up, I think! I hope! I have taken the Google+ Comments off my blog. You no longer have to have a Google+ Profile to leave me a comment. Any of my followers may leave me a comment. And I would really love to hear from you about the changes I have made lately. Which ones do you like? Which ones don't  you like? What would you like to see that I have done in the past that you might want to see again? Suggestions? Requests? Just say hi! I've had so much fun these past two weeks with the changes I've been making and getting things ready for the rest of the summer and (yes) planning into the fall. I was checking all the settings for the blog and when I hit the comments settings, I finally realized that those settings might be a stumbling block. The one that I've been looking to fix all along. I hope it's the one that will fix what I see as my biggest problem on the blog. I'm keeping my fingers crossed.

Judi and the Blue Cat

ootd 6/21/2016

ootd 6/21/2016

Oops, I did it and then was so busy, I forgot to post it!

ootd 6/22/2016

ootd 6/22/2016

Yes, the sand sculpture exhibit and competition at Hampton Beach, NH! I'm soooo excited! Buggy, not so much.

Beach Breezy

Beach Breezy

At the beach or in town, this is summer living easy!

Tuesday, June 21, 2016

Summer Whites Six Ways

sign

There's nothing like the look of an all white outfit in the summer. It dazzles the eye and holds the attention long after other outfits have faded from memory. Let's see how to put it all together.

summer whites

Long shorts and an off the shoulder blouse to catch all the cool breezes.

summer whites 2

Loose shorts and tank with a long light cardigan for a classy, casual summer look. Keep it neat, remember casual is not sloppy.

summer whites 3

A loose cut tank dress with v-neck and uneven hem will flow with the slightest breeze.

summer whites 4

A lovely sheath dress with a self scarf tied in the latest way with knots on each side. Country club luncheon classy.

summer whites 5

Cropped white cotton jeans and a simple off-the-shoulder cotton blouse. A neat, uncluttered look.

summer whites 6

A side split skirt, a one shoulder peplum top and a sheer white over embroidered kimono with long fringe. Elegant for a special occasion.

There you have six looks all in summer white. How do you do your summer white looks?

Hope you enjoy your day. See  you tomorrow for my ootd and a peek into a beach house design. Happy Tuesday!

Judi and the Blue Cat

Monday, June 20, 2016

ootd 6/20/2016

ootd 6/20/2016

Happy Monday! My top doesn't have any blue in it, but it's similar. My earrings are black based, double circles and tiny rainbow stones, this was the closest I could come to for effect.

So, what do you think about the changes on Blue Cat Review lately? I'd love to hear from you about them.
Enjoy your day!

The Illegal Gardener by Sara Alexi

29675054The Illegal Gardener
Book #1 of The Greek Village Collection by Sara Alexi

GoodReads Summary:
Driven by a need for some control in her life Juliet sells up on impulse and buys a dilapidated farm house in a tiny Greek village, leaving her English life behind.

The house is liveable by local standards but the job of restoring the garden is too big, it requires strength. Juliet cannot bring it to life on her own. 

Around the olive tree, hidden beneath the covering of bindweeds, are mattresses, broken chairs, shepherds' crooks, and old goat bells, the remains of past lives intertwined in a slow decay. The beauty of the garden is lost with the years of neglect and no one to appreciate it. 

Juliet reluctantly enlists casual labour. She has no desire to share her world with anyone. The boys have grown, Mick has gone. This is her time now.

Aaman has travelled to Greece from Pakistan illegally. His task is to find work and raise money for the harvester his village desperately needs to deliver them out of poverty. Poverty that is sending the younger generation to the cities, dividing families, and slowly destroying his community. 

What he imagined would be a heroic journey in reality is fraught with danger and corruption. He finds himself in Greece and follows the work, a little here, a little there. As time passes he loses his sense of self, he is now an immigrant worker, illegal, displaced, unwanted, with no value. Some days he does not have enough money to feed himself, let alone to return home to Pakistan.
In the village square, he waits for work, dawn not even broken.
Juliet hires Aaman.

Neither is entirely comfortable with their role. Juliet the Westerner, with money and a valid passport, even though she wants her garden clearing resents the intrusion. Aaman needs the work and money but resents the humiliation.

As the summer progresses, even though they are from vastly different backgrounds, cultures apart, they discover they have something in common, an event that has defined how they interact and even how they view themselves. Pieces of their lives they have kept hidden even from themselves are exposed. Each is the other's catalyst to facing their own ghosts.

My Review:

Initally, I wondered where this could be going. Then the tension started building and I had to wonder if it could possibly end up where it seemed to be headed. It just didn't seem right.

It's a love story isn't it? Yes. But not the usual type of love 
story. Not a romance. This is the love between a man and a woman who have conciously made the decision not to cross that line. They have a far richer relationship. Juliet and Aaman start out as two people caught up in their own struggles with no real understanding of the other person or their cultural differences. They start as boss and employee with one working for the other. They are at a distance. They learn to work together and to see things from each others perspective until they have a friendship and trust and an understanding of each other that goes deep. They have real love. It has been earned through long talks, hot tears and deep silences. They have faced betrayal, seperation, adversity, and danger. Seperately and together, they have overcome it all and each come to a better place emotionally and mentally.

And then it's over?

You need to read this book this summer. It's just about the perfect summer read. And I need to read at least the next book in the collection to see if this is typical for this author. If it is, she needs to go to the top of my preferred authors list.
The Illegal Gardener

The next two books in the collection are:

28118864                   29685545
Saving Septic Cyril is actually #16 in the collection, but it is the reappearance of Aaman from The Illegal Gardener.

I purchased this book on BookBub, the review is fully my own opinion.

Judi

PS Don't forget to sign up for the Coyer Clean Out Your eBooks Challenge  http://www.coyerchallenge.com To see other book reviews in the Coyer Challenge go here.