Back to Top

Thursday, August 25, 2016

It's a Jungle Out There!

Yup, today it's all about the animals! In each piece of artwork, there's at least one animal. Sometimes it's all about the animal, and sometimes the animal is just there for support or laughs.
Just Dropping In
Just Dropping In
by mrscharley
3176 - Walk at your own pace
Walk at Your Own Pace
by niwi
Fantasy Moons Rising
Fantasy Moons Rising
by mrscharley
After the dance...
After the Dance
by lindafaulkner-adams
Pure Magic
Pure Magic
by mrscharley
Pooppoopidou
Pooppoopidou
by vlaggetje
Welcome to the Neighborhood
Welcome to the Neighborhood
by mrscharley
3174 - Prudence
Prudence
by niwi

I hope you enjoyed the presentation. And I hope your Thursday is a great day. See you tomorrow for those two book reviews I mentioned the other day, Detroit is No Dry Bones and The Art and Craft of Handmade Books. Both books not to be missed depending on where your interests lie.
Best wishes from Judi and the Blue Cat


Wednesday, August 24, 2016

ootd 8/24/2016

ootd 8/24/2016

My shirt is actually a cream and grey vertical stripe, but I couldn't find one. So my look is a bit different because the shirt looks lighter in stripes (3/8"). I do love that pop of cobalt blue with a grey outfit, though. The glasses that I'm using for these sets lately are my actual glasses. I found them on Pinterest. They are charcoal and teal and I love them! They work well with my skin and hair colouring.

Aunt D gets to see Rowan today! And climb the three flights of stairs to Sarah's place...ouch! That's a killer, but it's the only way to get to her until they update the building!

Y'all enjoy your Wednesday and I'll see you tomorrow with some animal art. Best wishes from Judi and the Blue Cat

Cat~egories

Cat~egories
I really like the idea of carrying a card to let people know that I have pets at home that need care, in case I'm unable to care for them myself due to illness or injury. I haven't been to this website, but I think I'll just type up a card and put it in my wallet along with my regular emergency info.

As for the hiding techniques, both of my cats are masters of hiding and could teach others some new tricks, I mean techniques.

This litter box looks like a good idea, but this would be really slow and heavy, I think. Those holes would need to be quite small, so the litter flow would be slow. And you would be holding it the whole time. I'm sure there's a better design out there.

I don't know about your cat, but if I put my cats in that stack, there would definitely be fur flying in a very short time. It would start as play, but it wouldn't stay that way for very long.

I don't think the site that sells these dishes is still in business since the post is from 2011. However, if you are crafty, You could use a terracotta pot and saucer, painted and glazed, to do this for your cat. For what it's worth, here's the link to moderncat to see if they are still around.
Cat~egories 2
Did you know that your cat aged that much faster than you do? That's why their lives are so much shorter than ours. So we have to love them so much more!

This amazing kitty cat circus looks great! It also looks expensive and like a waste of money and time. My cats would rather play with the boxes until they are in shreds. However, if your cat likes this sort of thing, it's made in Asia at catwheel.net. I went to the site and it is in their own language. My computer translated everything but the money. Sorry, can't help you there.

Has your cat showed you all its tricks? If it's anything like mine, it has more than this little chart shows. Cats are masters of disquise and trickery!

Those hammocks look cozy, but this could easily turn crazy like the stack above.

This article shows you several ways you could make your pet comfy and disguise it all at the same time! Take a peek!

My cats would need to have one of these for each of them! They both love to lie around in the sun and see outside! This looks amazing! (link to store

Having something like this at the front door seems like a great idea to me!

I am not being compensated for talking about these items by the producers/sellers. These are simply items that I have seen and thought were of interest to myself and wanted to share with you. I am not connected with any of these companies, formal/informal, in anyway.

~Judi E. Easley 

Tuesday, August 23, 2016

ootd 8/23/2016

ootd 8/23/2016


Let's Take a Peep at Some Great Looks!

Schedule one more pedicure. And be sure to choose a fall shade, like bronze or taupe or even a dark, dark red. 'Cause this week we look at peeps. Not Easter peeps! Peep-toes!
Simply Elegant
Lovely nude peep-toes will make your legs look longer in any outfit and they go with everything in the closet!
Black Denim with Royal Purple
Black mule peep-toes are so easy to wear, you'll feel like it's still summer!
Peep-Toes 3
Soft gray booties with the peep-toes are so on trend now, but they are just so cute you'd wear even if they weren't!
Peep-Toes 4
Here's where you can really see that nude tone shoes make your legs look longer. They'll look like they go on forever!
Peep-Toes 5
These black open weave peep-toes will see a lot of wear. You'll want to wear them with everything in your closet!
Peep-Toes 6
Light taupe? Another color that you can wear with anything. And these peep-toes are styled to do just that!
Peep-Toes 7
Ever wanted a pair of blue shoes to go with all your jeans and add a little length to that look? Well, these peeps are just the pair. Denim blue and they are just right for any denim look!
Peep-Toes 8
And here's another pair of peeps in denim blue that will make your denim looks soar and your pedicure shine!

So while the weather is still warm enough and the snow isn't upon us, this is peep-toes season! But peep-toes really look best with a nice, neat pedicure. So be sure to schedule one before you wear these delectable styles.

For what's on trend for this fall, stop by Style at a Certain Age and see what Beth Djalali has to say about it.

That's it for now, this Tuesday. My ootd will be up at noon and then it's decor for cats tomorrow! Have a terrific Tuesday!
Best of wishes from Judi and the Blue Cat

Monday, August 22, 2016

ootd 8/22/2016

ootd 8/22/2016

My shirt is actually green and blue stripes, but I couldn't find one that looked anything like it. This is the closest I could get. That's why the green sandals! Ha! Ha! 

Hey, are any of you into Bullet Journals? I have a Pinterest board I try to keep up-to-date with all sorts of items if you're interested.

Hope you all had a great weekend and are off to a wonderful start for this week! I know Monday isn't everyone's favorite day, but it has to happen, or you don't ever get to Friday! Two book reviews this morning. Tomorrow I'm doing anything with peep-toes! Wednesday is at home with cats. Next week it'll be for the dogs. Equal time, you know. Then Thursday the art will be all for the animals. And I'll end on Friday with two more book reviews. Anyone from Detroit? One of the books is about photography done in Detroit.The other is about making books. Any handcrafters out there? Well, refill your coffee cup and get to it! You can't have a great week unless you work at it!

All our best, from Judi and the Blue Cat

The White Rose (Rose Series, #2) by A. M. Helen

31115287 The White Rose by A.M.Helen
ebook327 pages
Expected publication: August 22nd 2016 by Teardrop Productions

GoodReads Summary:
With Melissa Medina missing and billionaire Alexander Kane in turmoil, it falls to David Kane to unravel the lies behind the collapse of his elder brother’s relationship. But distraction lies in his desire for the woman who threatens to undermine him body and soul.

Catalina Medina’s reckless nature is a torment to David’s need for control. When they clash, emotions flare, wills bend and passion becomes an inferno of want. Introduced to David’s private world, Catalina begins to take the first steps to forgiving herself for events in her past she can never change.

The millionaire Sebastian Moretti is trying to change. He fears the sins he committed in his crazed youth, sins against both Catalina and her cousin, could be unearthed. The only woman he has ever loved is now within his grasp. And Sebastian will destroy love, faith and even lives to make Melissa Medina love him too.

My Review:
Catalina has always held herself responsible for what happened to her cousin, Melissa, when they were younger. For what she did, she doesn't allow herself to be happy. She denies herself relationships that could make her happy. And she knows that David could make her very happy.

David is fascinated by Catalina and her turmoil. He wants to take control and fix it. He wants to make her happy. He wants her. He will have her. He just has to make her see it that way.

In the meantime, Melissa is facing the fact that she is back in the hands of the monster from her youth, and it appears that there is no escape but death this time. But death's release may be a long ways off.

The author does a wonderful job of portraying her characters in such a way that you really feel what they are feeling. You feel Catalina's anger and Melissa's despair. You feel Alexander's devastation when he discovers that Melissa is gone. A.M. Helen definitely has a way with the dark romance.

The White Rose is being released today, August 22nd. Be sure you get your copy! Haven't read The Blue Rose, yet? What are you waiting for?

The White Rose was provided to me by Teardrop Productions and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. I am not being compensated in any way. All opinions stated are fully my own.
~ Judi E. Easley

29914661 The Blue Rose is Book #1 in the Rose Series by A.M.Helen. Since I was provided Book #2 by Teardrop Productions and NetGalley, I needed to backtrack and read The Blue Rose. This was a good book. 

This is how GoodReads described it. When Melissa Medina takes up the position of Spanish teacher to enigmatic businessman Alexander Kane, the attraction between them is instant and intense. The strict lines of employer and employee soon begin to weaken as desire overtakes all other rules. With wealth and power though, comes exposure. Kane has enemies. Melissa has secrets. And outside forces from their past and present lives are intent on destroying their new relationship for mutual gain. As their lives converge, passions intensify, past secrets spill into present-day lives and lies begin to look like truths. But who is the saint and who is the sinner...

unlocking worlds: a reading companion for book lovers by Sally Allen

28000446 unlocking worlds: a reading companion for book lovers by Sally Allen


Kindle Edition172 pages
Published November 11th 2015 by Griffins Wharf 

GoodReads Summary:
Award-winning writer and teacher Sally Allen knows that good books don’t just draw us in; they talk to us, shape us, and transport us to times, places, and minds different from our own.

In Unlocking Worlds: A Reading Companion for Book Lovers, Allen deftly weaves personal stories with fifteen thematized, annotated, and illustrated reading lists for what to read next. By sharing some of the treasures in her library and the secret lives they reveal, she gives us permission to embrace the shameless book lover inside each of us. Unlocking Worlds is a testament to how reading passionately—and compassionately—can unlock the world beyond our back yard. Celebrating books and those who read them, Allen shows how the solitary act of reading can be a powerful thread that creates community and connection.

Thought-provoking and eloquent, Unlocking Worlds: A Reading Companion for Book Lovers is a must-have for anyone who can’t leave the house without a book in hand.


My Review:
I'm going to have to get this book in paperback now that I have read it in ebook. This is the type of book that I need to be able to scribble in the margins! This would be a fabulous book to use for a book club for book lovers. It would make a wonderful reading list for such a book club!

I haven't read all the books in the book, but I've read at least one in each category, and usually more. I thoroughly enjoyed the author's comments and quotes on books. Not that I agreed with everything she said about every book, but that's why I think it would be so great for a book club. This book was written to start discussions and arguments about books! It's meant to get people engaged about books. And it certainly added to my reading list!

And absolute jewel of a book! Makes me want to get to know the author and be her next best friend! Sit in a shadey garden with a pot of tea and discuss books all day long!

This book was provided to me by Griffins Wharf and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. I am not being compensated in any way. All opinions are fully my own.
~ Judi E. Easley

Friday, August 19, 2016

Arguments for Lawn Chairs by Aaron Kreuter

 Arguments for Lawn Chairs by Aaron Kreuter
Published by Guernica Editions Inc. September 1, 2016 e format

  I received this from Guernica and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. All opinions stated are fully my own. I am not being compensated for this review in any way other than receipt of the text.

Looking at the title, I knew this was going to be an experience in modern poetry that I may not enjoy. I read the whole book through. Some of it was not terribly pleasant in its graphic mental visions or smells. Some of it was terribly sad. Other parts of it were just beyond me, I must admit. So, I read the whole book through again. This was when parts of it started to reach out and grab me. It began with the first piece in the book. It is called Plastic. I think I have read and reread this poem more than any other in the book. Can I call it a poem? This is not what I learned poetry is. But this is a book of poetry, so this must be a poem. Okay. I read and reread this poem. And I keep reading this poem simply because it keeps catching a corner of my mind. My mind keeps trying to make sense of it, I think. I just don't think I would want to brush my teeth with hardened dog eyelashes, thank you. And that's only one of the strange things this poem offers up in its thirteen lines.

Then, I got to An Optomist Thinks About Plastic Water Bottles. No, it's not all about plastic, really. Far from it, but these two really struck me! "midway through her talk she pauses, takes three big swigs, wipes her mouth with her hand, and, on some unconscious level, it begins:" This cliffhanger sets the stage for world change! Really. These 23 words set the reader up for what becomes a total about face in the habits of the civilized world in regards to how we use resources and care for the earth. "and this is how it will spread, seminars, conferences, political rallies, how-tos, concerts, athletic meets, spilling out into the populace, caught on some primordial hook of the mind:" Just your everyday word of mouth.

The piece, Letter to Irena Sendlerowa, was so sad, so touching. It made me want to do something in the way of sacrifice the way the author had. As he said "I had to do something. I had to lose something." Mr. Kreuter definitely has a way with words and phrases. He creates an image or a mood so well with words. Much the way a painter does with paint. Now, tell me, does this sound like love to you? "perhaps one day we'll sit together as our livers fail, our muscles slide, our brains misfire, our openings crust and ooze, our furious hearts slow, but for now, I want nothing more than to plug into your complex nervous system and never stop tingling." This is the end of Love Poem My mistress' eyes are nothing like the sun. The rest of the poem is really anatomically graphic, and it doesn't read like a love scene. But it is a love poem.

Yes, these are poems. This is a book of poetry and I will be reading it over and over, I think. Mr. Keuter has a magical way with words. A wonderful way of crafting a phrase and making it into something you can see and feel or even smell. Maybe it's not his fault that some of his verse (?) is beyond me, but it did cost him a star. I am holding this review until closer to the publishing date. Once the book is available, pick up a copy and lose yourself in the author's words. See what images and moods he creates for you.

Judi E. Easley
Blue Cat Review

Thursday, August 18, 2016

Untitled #2885Sorry, no posts yesterday, today or tomorrow other than what's already scheduled. I am having back spasms and migraines, so I won't be at the computer. There is the book review already scheduled for Friday on the awesome poetry book, Arguments for Lawn Chairs. Don't miss it. The book is super! I look forward to being back with you on Monday. Enjoy the rest of your week and weekend.
Judi and Blue Cat.